The Great Bustard
Follow the Trail

The Great Bustard

  • THAT'S ME
  • FACTS
  • OBSERVATIONS
  • MULTIMEDIA
  • ST. MARTINS
  • QUIZ

Dear Explorers,

Perhaps you have heard of me before. I'm quite big, one of the heaviest birds on earth that can fly and I also live in Lower Austria and Burgenland. My name is Great Bustard and, despite my size, I am not so easy to spot. To make this a little easier for you, we have put together a lot of interesting and surprising facts about me. I hope you enjoy reading about me.

Many thanks to the experts at https://www.grosstrappe.at for providing images and information.

Picture credits: © Franz Josef Kovacs
Header picture credits: © Franz Josef Kovacs

  • Size: up to 1 m
  • Wingspan: up to 240 cm
  • Weight of cockerels: up to 15 kg
  • Weight of females: significantly smaller and lighter (up to 5.5 kg)
  • Nest: simple hollow in the ground
  • Eggs: mostly 2, rarely 3
  • Breeding period: 25 - 27 days, young birds are fledged after 5 weeks,
  • Age: 20 years and older; roosters reach sexual maturity at 5 - 6 years!

Bustards have a massive body and strong legs. The back and tail feathers of the cockerels are reddish-brown and black-banded, the breast is rusty-brown and the underside of the body is clearly white. The head and neck are blue-grey. Older cocks have a feather beard next to their lower beak.
Hens have a more delicate build and a slimmer neck in keeping with their lower weight. The plumage coloration is less intense, or tending towards grey.

Picture credits: © Franz Josef Kovacs

Picture credits: © Franz Josef Kovacs

Picture credits: © Franz Josef Kovacs

Great bustards eat plants such as herbs, seeds, grains, fruit and onions. Important foods in the cultivated landscape are the leaves of rape, alfalfa, clover, peas and various other arable herbs. Their diet also includes insects and small mammals. Animal food, especially grasshoppers, is particularly important for the chicks in the first two weeks of life. During this time, they are fed by their mother.
The animal proteins are particularly necessary and important for the rapid growth of the bustards. Bustards weigh approx. 90g when they hatch, by the fall they have almost reached full size.

Research results from Spain show that great bustards eat certain insects and wild plants to combat parasites and worms in their intestines. Oil beetles, for example, contain the highly toxic cantharidin, while corn poppies and viper's bugloss contain very effective alkaloids. The ingestion of these substances can prevent the transmission of diseases within bustard populations.

With the exception of the breeding season, the birds live all year round separated by sex in wide open spaces and their flight distance when disturbed is extraordinarily large. Great bustards are largely mute.

Picture credits: © Franz Josef Kovacs

Courtship usually takes place in spring in traditional areas that have often been used for decades. It is unusual. The rival cocks turn their brown wing feathers inside out and the white elbow feathers and undersides of the wings come up. In addition, the throat pouch is inflated and the feather beard is spread.

The cocks, which are normally well camouflaged, turn into bright white balls of feathers and are visible to the hens from afar. In polygamous great bustards, several young cocks, including "onlookers", are involved in the courtship display, and the hens mate with several cocks. The breeding sites of the hens are often used repeatedly throughout their lives. Hens are very susceptible to disturbance at the start of breeding.

Great bustards live in steppe and heathland areas from Western Europe and Northwest Africa to Central and East Asia. The world population comprises almost 36,000 individuals. The largest population with more than half of the birds is found in Spain and the population numbers are declining worldwide, the species is considered endangered worldwide. Great bustards have suffered a decline of around 30% in the last 11 years. In contrast, the Central European populations have increased by 11%. Thanks to extensive conservation management in the form of the "LIFE Great Bustard (LIFE NAT/AT/000834)" project(www.grosstrappe.at) in Austria, Slovakia and Hungary, the West Pannonian bustard population living here has also recovered and has grown from under 300 to over 600 animals in the past 20 years (+ 7%). One reason for this pleasing development was, for example, the laying of approx. 150 km of high-voltage power lines under the ground in Lower Austria and Burgenland.

Great bustards are best observed during the mating season in spring in the Waasen, or Hansag, an eastern part of the national park Neusiedler See-Seewinkel. Special observation towers offer a good opportunity to look far into the landscape for great bustards. An area for good fall and winter observations is located on the Parndorfer Platte near Zurndorf. There are also observation towers there to see the bustards.

As the bustard breeding site is a little off the beaten track of the usual national park region, we have been conducting our own Great Bustard safaris in spring for many years. The focus of this tour is of course on this species, but with a bit of luck you can also observe white-tailed and imperial eagles, short-eared owls, Montagu's harriers, curlews and whinchats in this area.

Test your knowledge!

Discover a new species each month and, with a little luck, win a Seewinkel-Safari voucher for two.

Good luck with your participation and explorer greetings,
your nature experience team of the St. Martins Spa  &Lodge

Conditions of participation:
The current competition will run until April 30, 2024. The winner of a safari voucher for two will be chosen from all participants with the correct answer in camera. The winner will be notified via email . Cash redemption of the prize and legal recourse are excluded.

The largest population of Great Bustard is found in?*
How many eggs does a female Great Bustard normally lay?
How heavy are great bustards after hatching?

Back

Thermal baths occupancy

No reservation required.

Bathing lake temperature
22.4 °C

Webcam & Weather

Explorers-Wall
You are using an outdated browser. The website may not be displayed correctly. Close

Die Großtrappe
Der Spur folgen

Die Großtrappe

  • DAS BIN ICH
  • FACTS
  • BEOBACHTEN
  • MULTIMEDIA
  • ST. MARTINS
  • QUIZ

Liebe Entdeckerin, Lieber Entdecker,

vielleicht haben Sie ja schon einmal etwas von mir gehört. Ich bin ziemlich groß, zähle zu den schwersten flugfähigen Vögeln der Erde und lebe auch in Niederösterreich und dem Burgenland. Mein Name ist Großtrappe und ich bin, trotz meiner Größe, gar nicht so leicht zu entdecken. Damit das für Sie ein wenig einfacher wird, haben wir viel Interessantes und auch Überraschendes über mich zusammengetragen. Viel Vergnügen bei der Lektüre.

Herzlichen Dank an die Experten von https://www.grosstrappe.at für die Bereitstellung von Bildmaterial und Informationen.

Bildnachweis: © Franz Josef Kovacs
Header-Bildnachweis: © Franz Josef Kovacs

  • Größe: bis zu 1 m
  • Flügelspannweite: bis 240 cm
  • Gewicht von Hähnen: bis 15 kg
  • Gewicht von Weibchen: bedeutend kleiner und leichter (bis 5,5 kg)
  • Nest: einfache Bodenmulde
  • Eier: meistens 2, selten 3
  • Brutdauer: 25 – 27 Tage, Jungvögel sind nach 5 Wochen flügge,
  • Alter: 20 Jahre und älter; Hähne erreichen die Geschlechtsreife mit 5 – 6 Jahren!

Trappen haben einen massigen Körper und kräftige Beine. Bei den Hähnen sind Rücken und Schwanzfedern rotbraun und schwarz gebändert, die Brust ist rostbraun, die Körperunterseite deutlich weiß. Der Kopf und Hals sind blaugrau. Ältere Hähne bekommen neben dem Unterschnabel einen Federbart.
Hennen haben entsprechend ihrem geringeren Gewicht einen zarteren Körperbau und einen schlankeren Hals. Die Gefiederfärbung ist weniger kräftig, bzw. ins grau gehend.

Bildnachweis: © Franz Josef Kovacs

Bildnachweis: © Franz Josef Kovacs

Bildnachweis: © Franz Josef Kovacs

Großtrappen fressen Pflanzliches wie Kräuter, Samen, Körner, Früchte und Zwiebel. Wichtige Nahrung in der Kulturlandschaft sind die Blätter von Raps, Luzerne, Klee, Erbsen und diversen anderen Ackerkräutern. Zur Nahrung gehören aber auch Insekten und Kleinsäuger. Für die Küken in den ersten beiden Lebenswochen ist tierische Nahrung, vor allem Heuschrecken, besonders wichtig. In dieser Zeit werden sie von der Mutter gefüttert.
Die tierischen Proteine sind vor allem für das rasche Wachstum der Trappen notwendig und wichtig. Trappen wiegen beim Schlüpfen ca. 90g, im Herbst haben sie dann nahezu die vollständige Größe erreicht.

Forschungsergebnisse aus Spanien zeigen, dass Großtrappen zur Bekämpfung von Parasiten und Würmern im Darm bestimmte Insekten und Wildpflanzen fressen. Ölkäfer enthalten z.B. das hochgiftige Cantharidin, Klatschmohn und Natternkopf sehr wirksame Alkaloide. Die Aufnahme dieser Stoffe kann die Übertragung von Krankheiten innerhalb von Trappenpopulationen verhindern.

Die Vögel leben mit Ausnahme der Fortpflanzungszeit ganzjährig nach Geschlechtern getrennt auf offenen weiten Flächen und ihre Fluchtdistanz bei Störung ist außerordentlich groß. Großtrappen sind weitgehend stumm.

Bildnachweis: © Franz Josef Kovacs

Die Balz findet im Frühjahr meistens auf traditionellen, oft schon Jahrzehnte langen benützten Arealen statt. Sie ist außergewöhnlich. Die rivalisierenden Hähne stülpen das braune Flügelgefieder um und die weißen Ellenbogenfedern und Flügelunterseiten kommen nach oben. Zusätzlich wird der Kehlsack aufgeblasen und der Federbart abgespreizt.

Die normalerweise gut getarnten Hähne werden zu weiß leuchtenden Federbällen und sind für die Hennen weithin sichtbar. Bei den polygamen Großtrappen sind an der Balz mehrere, u.a. auch „schaulustige“ Junghähne beteiligt, die Hennen paaren sich mit mehreren Hähnen. Die Brutplätze der Hennen werden oft ein Leben lang immer wieder benützt. Hennen sind bei Brutbeginn sehr störungsanfällig.

Großtrappen leben auf Steppen- und Heidegebieten von Westeuropa und Nordwest-Afrika bis Zentral- und Ostasien. Der Weltbestand umfasst annähernd 36.000 Individuen. Die größte Population mit mehr als der Hälfte der Vögel befindet sich in Spanien und die Bestandzahlen sind weltweit rückläufig, die Art gilt weltweit als gefährdet. Großtrappen erlitten in den letzten 11 Jahren einen Rückgang um ca. 30%. Die Mitteleuropäischen Populationen verzeichnen im Gegensatz dazu einen Zuwachs von 11%. Durch umfangreiches Schutzmanagement in Form des Projekts „LIFE Great Bustard (LIFE NAT/AT/000834)“ (www.grosstrappe.at) in Österreich, der Slowakei und Ungarn hat sich auch die hier lebende Westpannonische Trappen-Population erholt und ist in den vergangenen 20 Jahren von unter 300 auf über 600 Tiere angewachsen ( + 7% ). Eine Ursache dieser erfreulichen Entwicklung war z.B. das Verlegen von ca. 150 km Hochspannungsleitungen unter die Erdoberfläche in Niederösterreich und im Burgenland.

Großtrappen lassen sich am besten in der Balzzeit im Frühjahr im Waasen, bzw. Hansag, einem östlichen Teilgebiet des Nationalparks Neusiedler See-Seewinkel, beobachten. Spezielle Aussichtstürme bieten dazu eine gute Möglichkeit, weit in die Landschaft hinein nach den Großtrappen zu schauen. Ein Gebiet für gute Herbst- und Winterbeobachtungen befindet sich auf der Parndorfer Platte bei Zurndorf. Dort gibt es ebenfalls Aussichtstürme um die Trappen zu sehen.

Da sich der Trappen-Balzplatz doch ein wenig abseits der gängigen Nationalpark-Region befindet, führen wir seit vielen Jahren im Frühjahr eigene Großtrappen-Safaris durch. Der Schwerpunkt bei dieser Tour liegt natürlich auf diese Art aber mit etwas Glück kann man z.B. auch See- und Kaiseradler, Sumpfohreule, Wiesenweihe, Großer Brachvogel oder Braunkehlchen in diesem Gebiet beobachten.

Testen Sie Ihr Wissen!

Entdecken Sie jeden Monat eine neue Art und gewinnen Sie mit etwas Glück einen Seewinkel-Safari-Gutschein für zwei Personen.

Viel Glück bei der Teilnahme und Entdeckergrüße,
Ihr Naturerlebnis-Team der St. Martins Therme & Lodge

Teilnahmebedingungen:
Das aktuelle Gewinnspiel läuft bis 30. April 2024. Die Ermittlung des Gewinners für einen Safari-Gutschein für zwei Personen erfolgt unter allen Teilnehmern mit der richtigen Antwort unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit. Der/die Gewinner/in wird per E-Mail verständigt. Die Barablöse des Gewinns und der Rechtsweg sind ausgeschlossen.

Die größte Population der Großtrappe befindet sich in?*
Wie viele Eier legt ein Großtrappenweibchen normalerweise?*
Wie schwer sind Großtrappen nach dem Schlüpfen?*

Zurück

Thermenauslastung

Keine Reservierung erforderlich.

Badesee-Temperatur
21.6 °C

Webcam & Wetter

Entdecker-Wall
You are using an outdated browser. The website may not be displayed correctly. Close