Avocet

  • THAT'S ME
  • FACTS
  • OBSERVATIONS
  • MULTIMEDIA
  • ST. MARTINS
  • QUIZ

Dear explorer, Dear explorers!

You can't miss me in the national park Neusiedler See - Seewinkel , because with my distinctive sabre-like curved beak I am one of the most conspicuous waders. If you want to see and observe me, the avocet, you have to come to the area from the beginning of March to mid-October. I am on the move in the soda pools in search of food in the water and am unmistakable due to my black and white plumage coloration and my long legs and upward-curved bill.

Read on and find out more about me!

Image credit: Prunelle92, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Header image credit: Charles J. Sharp, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

  • Length: 42-46 cm
  • Wingspan: 72 cm
  • Beak length: 7-8 cm
  • Weight: 140-400 g
  • Nest: on the ground on sand and mud banks, a few centimeters above the water surface
  • Breeding season: April - August
  • Eggs: 3-4
  • Life expectancy: 24 years

Unmistakable wading bird that stands out with its black and white plumage, thin upturned bill and long, blue-grey legs. The upper head and neck of the avocet are black. The shoulders and wing tips are also black. Both sexes look the same, although the females have a slightly more curved bill.

The most common call of the avocet is the very typical "plütt plütt plütt". The birds react very quickly to disturbance and emit a shrill and rapid "quick quik quik".

The avocet searches for food in shallow water or thin mud. With oscillating head movements and a slightly open beak, it fishes polychaetes (small annelids belonging to the polychaete family), small crustaceans and insect larvae out of the water. The avocet also gets its name from the way it feeds. This is because it "sabres" rhythmically in the water with its slightly open beak to capture its food.

Image credit: 0x010C, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Image credit: Ryan Hodnett, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Image credit: BS Thurner Hof, Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported, via Wikimedia Commons

The breeding season of the avocet is from April to August and they only breed once a year in temperate to subtropical regions in small colonies. However, they can also lay replacement nests until June/July. The male builds the nest. It is a simple hollow on grass, mud or sand and hardly any nesting material is brought in. Both the female and the male breed and as a pair they vehemently defend their territory against other avocets and intruders.

The female lays 3-4 eggs and these are then incubated for 22-24 days. The young birds are then ready to fledge after approx. 28-32 days and are still molted during this time. The young are not fed, however, as they are nest fledglings and search for food with their short, not yet curved beaks.

The avocet is a wading bird that occurs in many parts of the world. It is widespread in Eurasia and Africa. But the species is also found in India, Mongolia, Kazakhstan and the African coast. In Austria, it is a regular breeding bird in Burgenland, otherwise a rare migrant in Styria and Upper Austria. As a migratory bird, the avocet winters in African coastal areas and sometimes even in Asia.

Picture credits: © Katharina Schabl

The avocet lives in wetlands with shallow waters, salt pans and salt marshes. However, it also occurs in estuaries, sea bays or vegetation-free shallow water zones. The breeding areas are primarily near brackish and saltwater lagoons in coastal regions or inland on steppe lakes. During migration, it also rests near freshwater lakes inland.

The avocet is classified as endangered in Austria, as its population is dependent on the continued existence of the pied avocet. However, humans also pose a threat due to their disturbance, environmental pollution and the drainage of wetlands. Conservation measures and the protection of wetlands are crucial for the long-term survival of these fascinating birds.

The avocet can be observed from early March to mid-October in the Neusiedler See area on the intact soda pools of the Seewinkel. It can also be found on the Hungarian side of the national park in Mekszikópuszta. Its striking white plumage makes it very easy to spot.

Regardless of which theme you go on safari with us in spring and summer, the avocet is an unmistakable bird that you can observe from a distance around the Lacken with binoculars or a spotting scope without disturbing it. You can learn a lot about the avocet on a birdwatching safari, where other bird species are also shown and explained by one of our expert St. Martins rangers.

Test your knowledge!

Discover a new species each month and, with a little luck, win a Seewinkel-Safari voucher for two.

Good luck with your participation and explorer greetings,
your nature experience team of the St. Martins Spa  &Lodge

Conditions of participation:
The current competition will run until June 30, 2024 and the winner of a safari voucher for two will be selected from all participants with the correct answer in camera. The winner will be notified via email . Cash redemption of the prize and legal recourse are excluded.

Avocets live*
What does the avocet eat?*
Which statement is correct?

Back

Thermal baths occupancy

No reservation required.

Bathing lake temperature
27.9 °C

Webcam & Weather

Explorers-Wall
test
You are using an outdated browser. The website may not be displayed correctly. Close

Säbelschnäbler
Der Spur folgen

Säbelschnäbler

  • DAS BIN ICH
  • FACTS
  • BEOBACHTEN
  • MULTIMEDIA
  • ST. MARTINS
  • QUIZ

Liebe Entdeckerin, Lieber Entdecker!

Ich bin im Nationalpark Neusiedler See – Seewinkel nicht zu übersehen, denn mit meinem markanten säbelartig gebogenen Schnabel gehöre ich zu einem der auffälligsten Watvögel. Wer mich, den Säbelschnäbler sehen und beobachten möchte, muss von Anfang März bis Mitte Oktober ins Gebiet kommen. Ich bin in den Soda-Lacken auf der Suche nach Nahrung im Wasser unterwegs und durch meine schwarz-weiße Gefiederfärbung und meine langen Beine und meinen nach oben gebogenen Schnabel unverkennbar.

Lies doch weiter und erfahre mehr über mich!

Bildnachweis: Prunelle92, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Header-Bildnachweis: Charles J. Sharp, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

  • Länge: 42-46 cm
  • Flügelspannweite: 72 cm
  • Schnabellänge: 7-8 cm
  • Gewicht: 140-400 g
  • Nest: am Boden auf Sand- und Schlammbänken, einige Zentimeter über der Wasserfläche
  • Brutzeit: April – August
  • Eier: 3-4
  • Lebenserwartung: 24 Jahre

Unverwechselbarer Watvogel der mit seinem schwarz-weißem Gefieder und dünnem nach oben gebogenem Schnabel und langen, blaugrauen Beinen auffällt. Der Oberkopf und Nacken des Säbelschnäblers ist schwarz. Auch die Schulterpartien und die Flügelspitzen sind schwarz. Beide Geschlechter schauen gleich aus wobei die Weibchen einen etwas mehr aufgebogenen Schnabel haben.

Der häufigste Ruf des Säbelschnäblers ist das sehr typische „plütt plütt plütt“. Auf Störung reagieren die Vögel sehr schnell und sie geben ein schrilles und schnell gereihtes „Quick quik quik“ von sich.

Der Säbelschnäbler sucht seine Nahrung im Flachwasser oder dünnem Schlick. Mit pendelnden Kopfbewegungen und leicht geöffnetem Schnabel fischt er dabei besonders Polychaeten (kleine zu den Vielborstern gehörende Ringelwürmer), kleine Krebstiere und Insektenlarven aus dem Wasser. Von der Art seines Nahrungserwerbs hat der Säbelschnäbler auch seinen Namen. Denn er „säbelt“ rhythmisch mit seinem leicht geöffneten Schnabel im Wasser um seine Nahrung zu erbeuten.

Bildnachweis: 0x010C, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Bildnachweis: Ryan Hodnett, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Bildnachweis: BS Thurner Hof, Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported, via Wikimedia Commons

Die Brutzeit des Säbelschnäblers ist von April bis August und sie brüten nur einmal pro Jahr in gemäßigten bis subtropischen Regionen in kleinen Kolonien. Sie können aber auch Ersatzgelege bis Juni/Juli anlegen. Das Männchen übernimmt den Nestbau. Es ist eine einfache Mulde auf Gras, Schlamm oder Sand und es wird kaum Nistmaterial eingetragen. Sowohl das Weibchen als auch das Männchen brüten und als Paar verteidigen sie ihr Territorium gegen andere Säbelschnäbler und Eindringlinge vehement.

Das Weibchen legt 3-4 Eier und diese werden dann 22-24 Tage bebrütet. Die Jungvögel sind dann nach ca. 28-32 Tagen flügge und werden in dieser Zeit noch gehudert. Gefüttert werden die Kleinen aber nicht, denn sie sind Nestflüchter und suchen mit ihrem kurzen, noch nicht gebogenen Schnabel, pickend nach Nahrung.

Der Säbelschnäbler ist ein Watvogel der in vielen Teilen der Welt vorkommt. Er ist in Eurasien und Afrika verbreitet. Aber die Art existiert auch in Indien, der Mongolei, Kasachstan und der afrikanischen Küste. In Österreich ist er ein regelmäßiger Brutvogel im Burgenland, sonst ein seltener Durchzügler in der Steiermark und in Oberösterreich. Als Zugvogel überwintert der Säbelschnäbler in afrikanischen Küstengebieten und manchmal sogar in Asien.

Bildnachweis: © Katharina Schabl

Der Säbelschnäbler lebt in Feuchtgebieten mit flachen Gewässern, Salinen und Salzwiesen. Kommt aber auch bei Flussmündungen, Meeresbuchten oder vegetationsfreien Seichtwasserzonen vor. Die Brutgebiete liegen in erster Linie in der Nähe von Brack- und Salzwasserlagunen in Küstenregionen oder im Binnenland an Steppenseen. Auf dem Durchzug rastet er auch in der Nähe von Süßwasserseen im Binnenland.

Der Säbelschnäbler in Österreich als gefährdet eingestuft, da sein Bestand vom Fortbestand der Lacken abhängig ist. Aber auch der Mensch ist durch seine Störungen, die Umweltverschmutzung und der Entwässerung von Feuchtgebieten ein Gefährdungsfaktor. Erhaltungsmaßnahmen und der Schutz der Feuchtgebiete sind entscheidend für den langfristigen Fortbestand dieser faszinierenden Vögel.

Den Säbelschnäbler kann man von Anfang März bis Mitte Oktober im Neusiedler See-Gebiet an den intakten Soda-Lacken des Seewinkels beobachten. Aber auch auf der ungarischen Seite des Nationalparks in der Mekszikópuszta findet man ihn vor. Durch sein sehr auffälliges weißes Gefieder ist er sehr leicht zu entdecken.

Egal zu welchem Thema man mit uns im Frühling und Sommer auf Safari geht, der Säbelschnäbler ist ein unverkennbarer Vogel den man rund um die Lacken gut mit dem Fernglas oder dem Spektiv aus der Ferne beobachten kann ohne ihn zu stören. Besonders viel erfährt man über den Säbelschnäbler bei einer Birdwatching-Safari wo auch andere Vogelarten durch einen unserer fachkundigen St. Martins Ranger/Rangerinnen gezeigt und erklärt werden.

Testen Sie Ihr Wissen!

Entdecken Sie jeden Monat eine neue Art und gewinnen Sie mit etwas Glück einen Seewinkel-Safari-Gutschein für zwei Personen.

Viel Glück bei der Teilnahme und Entdeckergrüße,
Ihr Naturerlebnis-Team der St. Martins Therme & Lodge

Teilnahmebedingungen:
Das aktuelle Gewinnspiel läuft bis 30. Juni 2024. Die Ermittlung des Gewinners für einen Safari-Gutschein für zwei Personen erfolgt unter allen Teilnehmern mit der richtigen Antwort unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit. Der/die Gewinner/in wird per E-Mail verständigt. Die Barablöse des Gewinns und der Rechtsweg sind ausgeschlossen.

Säbelschnäbler leben*
Was frisst der Säbelschnäbler?*
Welche Aussage ist richtig?*

Zurück

Thermenauslastung

Keine Reservierung erforderlich.

Badesee-Temperatur
21.6 °C

Webcam & Wetter

Entdecker-Wall
You are using an outdated browser. The website may not be displayed correctly. Close